WEEK17 – Spicy Onion Jam

(I’m so behind! As I write this I’m actually in WEEK 24!)

WEEK 17 is when I finally started to show. Not a whole lot, but enough to cause people to stop and say, “Hey! You look like you might be pregnant!”.  My standard response at the time was, “Are you sure? Because I feel like I look as if I’ve eaten a box of donuts every day for the past 3 weeks”.

WEEK 17 is also the week that my mom came and stayed with us for a few days to help us start work on the baby’s room. When she arrived that room still looked like an office, but by the time she’d left the room had been transformed!  The desk and file cabinets and paperwork had all been removed. The curtains and wall hangings had all come down. The wallpaper was torn off the walls. The room was ready to be turned into a nursery!

We had a lot of fun over those two days. We talked a lot about all of the things Jeff and I had planned for the nursery, such as painting the walls a nice gender neutral color (gray) and painting a white tree in one of the corners of the room. We also took the time to do a little shopping and eating out at some of my favorite Kansas City spots!

Spending time with my mom is always something I look forward to. I wish she could have stayed a few more days – in addition to being a lot of fun, there’s no telling what all we could have accomplished!

At WEEK 17 our baby was 5 inches long and about the size of an onion. His/Her skeleton was changing from soft cartilage to bone and he/she was able to move her joints.

SPICY ONION JAM

Onion jam is something I’ve always been curious about. And that doesn’t make sense to me, or to anyone who knows me, because I absolutely do not like onions. (Unless they are fried and served in the form of a blossom or rings along side a delicious dipping sauce.) But, when I saw that WEEK 17 was the week of the onion, I realized that I finally had my excuse to try out onion jam. And I’m so glad I did!!!  We served it on grilled hamburgers with cheddar cheese and tomatoes and MAN was it GOOD. Then, later on we decided to make onion dip by combining 8 ounces of cream cheese with 3/4 c of the onion jam and MAN was THAT good! We are excited to continue finding ways to eat this delicious stuff. My next plan – cornbread.

This recipe is totally something I found on-line. I made a few changes to suit my pregnant cravings. If you’d like to check out the original version, go here. Otherwise, enjoy my adaptation below.

Ingredients:

  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 pounds sweet onions, cut into thin slices (we used Vidalia)
  • 10 cloves garlic, sliced
  • 6 chipotle chiles in adobo, diced
  • 3/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • Salt to taste (we used around 1 tsp)

Directions:

  1. Combine oil, onions and garlic in a large pan and cook over med-low heat for 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  2. Cover pan and cook for an additional 20 minutes, stirring only once in the middle.
  3. Uncover and add chipotle chiles, balsamic vinegar and cayenne pepper and stir to combine. Cook until the vinegar has reduced and onions are soft, around 20-25 minutes, stirring often. Add salt to taste.
  4. Use warm or at room temperature and enjoy!

Yield: about 1 pint

Leave a Reply

