WEEK14 – Fresh Strawberry Lemonade

In WEEK 14 we had our second doctor’s visit. It was pushed up two weeks because of our late night ER trip in WEEK 13. We got to listen to our baby’s heartbeat, again, which was just as special as the first time we heard it. And, our doctor told me that the pain I was suffering from was called Round Ligament Pain – something I’d never heard of before.

Round Ligament Pain is something that most mothers-to-be start feeling in their third trimester so we were all impressed that mine started days before the end of my first trimester. When I got home I googled my condition and this is what I found:

“The round ligaments surround your uterus in your pelvis. As your uterus grows during pregnancy, the ligaments stretch and thicken to accommodate and support it. These changes may occasionally cause pain on one or both sides of your abdomen.

You may feel round ligament pain as a short jabbing sensation or a sharp, stabbing pain if you suddenly change position, such as when you’re getting out of bed or out of a chair or when you cough, roll over in bed, or get out of the bathtub. 

You may feel the pain starting from deep inside your groin, moving upward and outward on either side to the top of your hips. The pain is internal, but if you were to trace it on your skin, it would follow the bikini line on a very high-cut bathing suit.

The sharp, jabbing sensation of round ligament pain shouldn’t last longer than the few seconds in which you’re changing position or getting up. While round ligament pain is a common discomfort of pregnancy, abdominal pain can be a sign of a serious obstetrical problem such as preterm labor, severe preeclampsia, or placental abruption, or a medical problem totally unrelated to pregnancy, like appendicitis.

Having read that I finally understood why the nurse who I’d spoken to on the phone was so insistent for me to go to the ER. What I’d described to her that night could have been ANYTHING. Thank God I wasn’t experiencing preterm labor or a spontaneous abortion or an appendicitis!  Thank God it was just a problem with ligaments.

My pain was a little more intense than the description of the pain above in that it was more of a constant pain rather than lasting just a few seconds. And it wasn’t just a result of moving too quick or changing positions, however those were the times when the pain was most intense. It hurt when I lay in bed, it hurt when I stood still. It hurt, period. And while my doctor told me that I’d more than likely be dealing with this pain throughout the rest of my pregnancy, I wasn’t upset. I was thrilled to know what was causing the cramping – I no longer had to try to stop my brain from coming up with new and scary explanations of what I was experiencing every five minutes.

What I did not enjoy learning was that my doctor was concerned about how much water I was – or perhaps I should say wasn’t – drinking and told me that starting the next day she wanted me to drink 8 ounces of water every hour that I was awake. 8 OUNCES!! EVERY HOUR!! I’M AWAKE!! Do you realize how much water that is???  A bunch, I tell ya.

So, the next day I did exactly what she told me. I woke up at 7:20AM and by the time I’d gone to bed that night I’d drank a gallon of water. And had peed 42 times.

Okay, I didn’t really count the number of trips I made to the bathroom, but it felt like I’d gone in there at least that many times.  That night Jeff and I decided to grab a coffee (decaf for me) after running an invoice over to one of our customer’s houses. I had to cut that errand short because halfway to our customer’s house the sudden urge to you-know-what come over me like an unexpected tidal wave. I learned a very important lesson that night: never go barefoot and wear pajama pants when you’re in the car because you NEVER know when you might have to pee.

At WEEK 14 our baby was 3.5 inches long – about the size of a lemon. Our baby could squint, frown, grimace and suck his/her thumb!

FRESH STRAWBERRY LEMONADE

Lemonade is something I never get excited about. However, strawberry lemonade? Oh yes, please pour me a glass! This is one of my favorite recipes – it’s so fresh tasting and refreshing!  It makes me want to drive the 18 hours it would take for me to get from the middle of the country to Tybee Island in Georgia so that I can drink this amazing fruity and summery drink on the beach.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 cup fresh strawberry puree (we used stick blender)
  • 3 cups water
  • 1/2 cup superfine white sugar (we used a stick blender for this as well – took around 3 to 4 minutes)

Directions:

  1. This recipe is easy peasy! Combine all ingredients and pour into glasses with ice and enjoy!
NOTE: This recipe creates a lemonade that most certainly has fruit pulp – which I LOVE. If you’d prefer a smoother drink, I’d recommend using a juicer for your strawberries or to strain your strawberries before adding them to lemon juice, water and sugar.

One thought on “WEEK14 – Fresh Strawberry Lemonade

  1. Sharon says:

    Happy to hear all is well!

Leave a Reply

