WEEK12 – Ginger Plum Soda

WEEK12 was the week both Jeff and I had been waiting for. We had wanted sooooooooo badly to tell everyone our good news but decided early on to wait until we’d seen the doctor and had received a good report from her.

The very first thing we did as we walked away from the doctor’s office towards our car after our first appointment was call both of our moms. They were about to burst, so we let them know that the visit went well and they were now finally released from their vows of silence.

Then, I called my Grandma in McPherson and began emailing/calling cousins, aunts and uncles. We spent the rest of week 12 visiting friends who we wanted to make sure heard our news from us rather than them hearing it through the grapevine.

Here are a few of our favorite responses:

Our friend, Leigh – For over a year now I’ve been leaning on my friend Leigh’s shoulder. We’ve spent hours and hours discussing how important (and sometimes hard) it is to trust God and his timing. When Jeff and I went over to her house to share with her our exciting news we chatted for a few minutes before I stood up, lifted my shirt, hooked my thumbs into the top of my maternity jeans and said, “Can you tell what these are?” She shot up out of her seat like a rocket ship and came flying over to me, practically tackling me in the process, all while screaming words of congratulations and excitement! That was a fun visit!

Our church secretary and friend, Teresa – Teresa is also someone who I talked to on a regular basis about how frustrating the past year had been.  She, too, helped me to stay focused on trusting that God has a special plan for us and that all things happen according to His schedule. I was so excited to let her know, but didn’t really have anything fun prepared to say. When Jeff and I popped over to her office to visit I finally just blurted out, “Teresa, we have something to tell you”.  She immediately jumped up from her chair exclaiming, “I knew it! I knew it!” and ran over to give us both hugs. She said she just had a feeling, a hunch.

My Grandmother – When I called my Grandmother to tell her that she was going to be a great-grandmother again she congratulated us and said, “Why, I don’t care how old you get. I’m 88 years old and I STILL love to hear exciting news!”

One of my very favorite things about the day we told everyone at church was watching Jeff from the choir bound from one person to another out in the congregation collecting hand shakes, hugs and giant smiles. Several folks came running up on stage to give me hugs as they heard the good news. After the morning service was over we were able to meander the halls sharing our good news together. There were so many shrieks of happiness! That was a super fun day.

Jeff and I feel incredibly blessed to be surrounded by so many wonderful friends and family members who share our excitement and joy. It’s a wonderful thing to know that our baby will be – and already is – so loved.

At WEEK 12 our baby was 2 inches long and around the size of a plum! His/Her reflexes have started to develop. Little toes and fingers were wiggling, muscles clenched, and his/her little mouth was making sucking movements. Also, nerve cells were multiplying rapidly.

Ginger Plum Soda

I don’t have a whole lot of experience with plums. I think they are beautiful – I love the dark purple skin and how it contrasts with the lighter orange/pink color of the flesh. But as far as taste goes, I didn’t really know what to expect. So, rather than attempting to create something new, I chose to search for an already established recipe that intrigued me. This is the recipe I chose and let me tell you, I’m super happy I came across it. So easy, so refreshing, so fun to make!  And I image it would work for other stone fruits as well. Can you imagine – ginger peach soda?  Cherry lime soda? Mango soda? The possibilities are (somewhat) endless.

Ingredients:

  • 2 ripe plums, skin on, chopped
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 tablespoon fresh ginger, peeled and sliced
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 can club soda

Directions:

  1. Bring water boil. Toss in chopped plums, reduce heat, and simmer until plums are cooked and mushy and the liquid is bright red, about 15 to 20 minutes. In the last 5 minutes of simmering, toss in ginger slices.
  2. Turn off heat and stir in sugar until fully dissolved. Let cool. Strain liquid and discard solids.
  3. Add ice cubes to each glass and fill with plum syrup to two thirds of the way.  Top with club soda, give each glass a stir, and serve.

Leave a Reply

