WEEK11 – Coconut Lime Rice Pudding with Toasted Almonds

WEEK11 was a VERY good week.

This was the week we had our very first prenatal visit with our new doctor. My fingers were crossed that we would like our doctor, and lucky us, we loved her! Still do!

With this being our first ever prenatal appointment we had no idea of what to expect. At this point Jeff still had his fingers crossed that we were having (at least) twins. So, the very first question I asked Dr. L was “can you tell me today that I’m only carrying one baby? PLEASE?”

She let us know that it would be closer to week 20 before we’d be having an ultrasound, giving us a definitive answer, but promised that before we left she’d see how many heartbeats she could find.

Before I continue, let me tell you how nervous I was before meeting Dr. L and her medical assistant because I really really really wanted to love them. I think it’s important to have a good relationship with all of the medical type professionals in your life and that’s just not possible when you don’t like the person you’re working with. Case in point – my last doctor. I didn’t like her at all, and believe me I tried. But she was cold and quite honestly rude. Having not met Dr. L yet I was unsure as to whether or not we’d get along with her, but I did know that regardless of the fact, she was going to be my doctor for the next 8 months because we didn’t have time to look for a different one. So I was hopeful!

Lucky us, we fell in love with both Dr. L and her assistant the very moment we met them! Both ladies were so friendly and personable and funny and comforting – all wonderful traits to have in a medical professional. In addition to being fun loving and enjoyable they both instilled us with the confidence that they are very serious about their jobs and are experts in their field – even better traits to have in a medical professional.

In fact, Dr. L was so confident in her abilities as a doctor that she told us “Usually you have to wait until week 13 or 14 to be able to hear your baby’s heartbeat, but I’ll be able to do it today”.  And you know what?  She did.

Laying still on that table holding Jeff’s hand while listening to our baby’s heartbeat for the very first time was the most amazing experience I’d ever had in my life. It was overwhelmingly and unexpectedly emotional.  I had tears streaming down my face and saw Jeff wipe a few away himeself. Those brief seconds that we were able to listen to our tiny baby’s heart beating away… that was the moment I finally felt a connection. As a mother. As a family. It was, and more than likely will always be, one of the best experiences of my life.

Oh! By the way, she only found one heartbeat. SORRY JEFF!!!  🙂

At WEEK 11 our baby was just over 1 1/2 inches long and about the size of a lime. He/She was almost fully formed. Tiny tooth buds were beginning to appear under gums and some of his/her bones were beginning to harden. Our baby was busy kicking and stretching. And his/her diaphragm was forming, giving him/her lots of possible hiccups.

COCONUT LIME RICE PUDDING WITH TOASTED ALMONDS

Holy moly this rice pudding is satisfying. It’s not overwhelmingly sweet, like some rice puddings can be, but certainly cures a sweet tooth craving – which I was having today. I like to use arborio rice when making rice puddings because it produces a much creamer and more pleasing texture than other rices (however if all you have is basmati or a short grain rice, that would be fine, too. It just won’t create the same texture and consistency.). It’s creamy and smooth with a delicious crunch and packs a surprising zing from the lime zest. You are going to dig this.

Makes four 2/3 cup servings.

Ingredients:

  • 1 (13.66 oz) can coconut milk, unsweetened
  • 4 TBSP milk
  • 1/2 c arborio rice
  • 1/4 c white sugar
  • 2-3 tsp lime zest (or zest from 2 to 3 limes)
  • 1 c sweetened and flaked coconut
  • 2/3 cup slivered almonds

Directions:

  1. Combine coconut milk, milk, rice and sugar in a pan and bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring frequently.
  2. Once boiling, cover with a lid and turn heat down to low. Simmer for 30 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes or so.
  3. Meanwhile, place coconut in a pan over medium heat and cook for 3-4 minutes, constantly stirring until toasted. Repeat with almond slices. Combine toasted coconut and almonds in a bowl and mix thoroughly.
  4. Remove rice from heat and stir in lime zest and half of the coconut almond mixture. Pour into 4 separate bowls. Top with remaining coconut almond mixture and addition lime zest, if desired. Eat warm or chilled.

Leave a Reply

