WEEK10 – Grilled Habanero Salsa with Mango, Pineapple, Corn and Onion

WEEK10 was the week that reminded me that I have some of the best friends a girl could ever ask for.That week was a somewhat stressful one for me for a variety of reasons. Morning sickness was still an issue, the weather was absolutely gorgeous (normally a good thing, but not so much for a gal who owns a heating and cooling company), and the list of BABY TO DO’S seemed to grow daily:

  • Turn the office into a baby room.
  • Evaluate vehicle situation – our car isn’t big enough to hold two adults, a Labrador and a baby-seat.
  • Baby-proof house (i.e.lay carpet in the living room, find a higher place to store our pots and pans, put locks on all of the cabinet doors, get a baby gate for the stairway, install new windows in the office… I mean baby’s room).
  • Start purchasing baby stuff!  A crib, a changing table, a dresser, a rocker/glider for the baby’s room and maybe one for the living room, bottles, blankets, baby bag, toys, stuffed animals… clothes.
  • Agree on baby names.

The realization that I was already 1/4 of the way through my pregnancy and had only accomplished just a few things was really bothersome to me.  All I’d really done so far was make a plan to plan. I was too tired and nauseated to do much more than add to my on-going list of TO DO’s. Luckily, I have amazing friends. That week I emailed two of my closest girlfriends to tell them about how I was beginning to really stress out.  We decided to meet for a “drink”.  I, of course, had a non-alcoholic beverage – a virgin strawberry daiquiri to be specific. And it was delicious! But what was even better was the conversation. I hadn’t seen either of them in person for awhile and I hadn’t laughed like that in a long time. And it was like therapy. My friends listened to me and everything that had been on my mind and they made me feel better with their words of support and awesome advice. And they shared with me stories about all of the things they’d been up to. On my drive home that night I thanked God for blessing me with such amazing and supportive and wonderful women in my life. All of the stress that I had accumulated from earlier in the week was gone and I felt great. I felt prepared to tackle the world – or at least the my home office… I mean the baby’s room. At WEEK 10 our baby was a little over an inch long – the size of a habanero pepper.  He/She had just completed the most critical portion of his/her development and had just entered into the “fetal period” of his/her development. All of the major organs were in place and tiny nails had started to form on his/her precious little fingers and toes.

GRILLED HABANERO SALSA WITH MANGO, PINEAPPLE, CORN AND RED ONION

I admit it. I’ve been craving spicy food like you wouldn’t believe! When it came time for me to come up with a recipe for WEEK 10 I really did consider making something with kumquats (which apparently are not in season right now) or pecans, but what I really wanted was something hot and spicy! When Jeff and I went to the grocery store I looked around and realized that habanero peppers were the same size as kumquats I thought “PERFECT!” and instantly began creating a hot and sweet salsa in my head. Jeff, an expert mind-reader, said, “Should I go get some mangos?” as soon as I told him I wanted to make a habanero salsa.  We developed this recipe together, from beginning to end. And, my apologies for tooting our own horn, but I must say that it is one of my all-time favorite things we’ve made together! The grilled mango and pineapple offer a sweet and fresh taste to this firey salsa. It is de.lic.ious.

Ingredients:

  • 2 habanero peppers
  • 2 mangoes
  • 3 (3/4 inch) slices of fresh pineapple
  • 3 ears of corn
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 5 cloves of garlic, in their skin
  • 2 TBSP olive oil
  • 1/2 cup loosely packed cilantro, chopped
  • half of a lime
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Start grill.
  2. Prepare ingredients: wash habaneros; cut mango flesh away from pit and remove peel; slice pineapple and remove core and rind; shuck corn; cut onion in half or into thick slices; seperate garlic cloves (leaving skins on) and place them in a grill-proof bowl with olive oil; wash and chop cilantro.
  3. Place habaneros, mango halves, pineapple slices, corn, onion, lime half and bowl with garlic and oil on grill. Turn items as needed. Remove from the grill as they begin to blacken. More than likely you’ll remove your mangos and pineapple slices first, followed by the habaneros, lime, onions and then corn. Remove your garlic last, as you’ll want to provide as much time as you can infuse the olive oil with the garlic flavor.
  4. As items cool, chop them into uniform bits so that everything is around the same size – except for the garlic and habaneros! You want to remove the skins from the habaneros and garlic cloves and then mince them as finely as you can.
  5. Combine everything together in a bowl and mix. Pour the garlic oil over the top and stir one more time and then taste test. Add up to a 1/2 tsp of salt if you believe it needs it.
  6. Serve with corn chips, on top of grilled chicken breast, along side pork tenderloin, or even just as a side dish because it is that good!  Enjoy!
3 thoughts on “WEEK10 – Grilled Habanero Salsa with Mango, Pineapple, Corn and Onion

  1. Kathie Duguid says:

    Sounds absolutely wonderful! This is definitely one of the best blogs you have done so far. Love it.

  2. Sharon says:

    Wow, really colorful photos this time. Good going!!

  3. […] WEEK10 – Grilled Habanero Salsa with Mango, Pineapple, Corn and Onion […]

Leave a Reply

