WEEK8 – Double Berry Jelly (Stuffed Cupcakes)

I have a confession.  My last blog (WEEK 7, the blueberry), I fear, gave the indication that in week 7 we told EVERYONE that we are pregnant. I must clarify that we only told a few people. Our immediate family members – you know, moms, dads, sisters, brothers – all knew by WEEK 7. We also told a few of our oldest and dearest friends. Our plan was to wait until WEEK 14, aka the beginning of our 2nd trimester, aka TODAY, to tell everyone.  So, before continue, let me go on record saying that in WEEK 7 we only told a handful of folks. At this point, most of the wonderful people in our lives still did not know.

Now, on to WEEK 8!

By this point in my pregnancy we were still being pretty quiet about the whole thing. Well… I was anyway. Poor Jeff was about to explode from excitement, so to keep that from happening we agreed that he could tell our customers if he wanted to. But I kept my lips sealed.

My fingers, however, were not as good. I made a few posts on Facebook that I thought were innocent enough that no one would pick up on what was going on. However, I forgot that one of my best friends is also one of the smartest of the super smarties I know…

On December 25th I wrote: “Best Christmas ever!”  Innocent enough, right? I didn’t think this screamed, “Hey everyone, I took a pregnancy test this morning and guess what – I’M PREGNANT!”

On December 29th I wrote: “It’s home improvement time. Jeff is replacing the old window in the bathroom. WOO HOO for new windows!!!”  Yes, we kick started ourselves into the GET-READY-FOR-BABY mode, but how could anyone see that from this post?

On December 30th I wrote: “Home improvement project #2 – whole house water filtration. It’ll be like having a Britta in our bathroom, laundry room AND kitchen!”  Everyone wants clean water to drink, not just pregnant women, right?

Later in the day on December 30th I wrote: “Some things, as it turns out, are NOT simply mind over matter.” This was when I had my first experience with morning sickness. But, it could have meant anything.

On January 3rd I wrote: “Great day! Spent most of it with my mom, just goofing off and buying yarn. Wish we lived closer to each other so that we could have more days like today.” My mom came to town so that we could figure out a pattern for a baby blanket I wanted to crochet. We shopped for yarn and spent the entire day talking about babies. But, yarn isn’t just for baby blankets. Maybe we were buying it for… non-baby blankets?

On January 6th I wrote: “Something has died in our fridge. And I can’t find it”. Holy moly, was that a terrible smell. It didn’t effect Jeff the way it did me, but I’m pretty sure that’s because he’s NOT pregnant. But, I wrote nothing about how the smell coming from our refrigerator sent me running to the bathroom every time the door was opened.

On January 9th I wrote: “Great day with the moms!” This was the day that my mom and mother-in-law and I had our cloth diaper shopping spree. While I truly was referencing a day that was all about babies, this post certainly didn’t indicate that.

On January 11th I wrote: “Making baked kale chips. I wish I knew BEFORE I put kale in our oven how AWFUL it would smell as it baked. My stomach is n-o-o-o-o-o-o-t happy right now.”  Okay, maaaaaaaaaybe this was gave something away.

From these posts alone, my friend Devon figured it out. One day in January I received a text message from her saying “You wouldn’t happen to have any need to share, would you, friend???”  I knew immediately that she knew. While I was shocked, I wasn’t completely surprised. Devon is clever and smart and has a lock-box for a brain. I replied with a “Yes, I do have something to share” text and then simply told her that Jeff and I had a lot of fun hanging out with her the other night. Her response: “Lol. Ok, I’ll let it ride until the time is right. But remember this conversation.”

She could work for the FBI.

The very next week (WEEK 8) I emailed her to see if she’d like to have dinner with me. I said that I thought it would be nice to get together and catch up since we’d not seen each other since Christmas. We met at Panera, I had two bagels (carbs!), and we exchanged Christmas stories. Then, I said, “So, I have some news to share with you,” to which she responded by grabbing a gift bag out from under the table and a card. In the gift bag was an adorable onesie and the card was a congratulations on your pregnancy card.

I was completely blown away! I confirmed her suspicions and she congratulated Jeff and me. It was a fun night of catching up!

At this point we were 8 WEEKS along and our baby was around 3/4 of an inch long, about the size of a RASPBERRY. By this time our baby was moving all around on its own and it had all of it’s sweet little fingers and toes.

Double Berry Jelly (Stuffed Cupcakes)

I absolutely LOVE raspberries and chocolate and the combination of the two. That’s why we asked my brilliant friend Devon, who is also an awesome baker, to incorporate both flavors into our wedding cakes in some way. I wanted our wedding cake to be a white cake, so she made a beautiful White Almond Sour Cream cake with alternating layers of raspberry filling and champagne butter cream filling that was also covered in a champagne butter cream.  The groom’s cake was a Dark Chocolate Fudge cake that had a raspberry filling as well. It was covered in a chocolate ganache. Both were heavenly. But, if forced to choose a favorite, I’d vote for the chocolate raspberry groom’s cake.

While I enjoy baking muffins and cookies from time to time, I would never have the courage to attempt baking an impressive cake. When I need an impressive cake, I call Devon (click her name to see her stuff!). So, when I’m in the mood to reminisce about our wedding I make these sweet little things. They are in NO WAY comparable to the gorgeous and beautifully delicious cakes Devon made for us. But in a pinch, they provide as a tasty little reminder of how fun and awesome that night was.

The recipe below is just for the jelly filling because unless I’m doing something special (like a birthday cake), I usually just get a box of cake mix and a tub of pre-made frosting when I’m in the mood to make cupcakes…

Ingredients:

  • 1 (6 oz) package black berries
  • 2 (6 oz) packages of raspberries, set 24 aside for topping cupcakes
  • 2-1/4 c white sugar
  • orange peels from 2 oranges
  • 1 Yellow or White Cake Mix (and necessary ingredients)
  • 1 tub of Chocolate Frosting

Directions:

  1. Wash and sort berries. Remove any stray leaves. Select 24 whole raspberries and set them to the side to use as cupcake toppers. Place the remaining berries in a pot on the stove over med-high heat with sugar and bring to a boil while mashing with a potato masher.
  2. Once your berry mixture comes to a boil toss in the orange peels. This will add a nice subtle citrus flavor while providing the necessary pectin the jelly needs to gel.
  3. Boil for 2 minutes and then bring down to a simmer and cook for another 5 minutes. Cool completely. (This can be made several days ahead if you like.)
  4. While your jelly cools, bake cupcakes according to directions and cool completely.
  5. Once cool, using a cupcake plunger (or apple corer or melon baller or grapefruit spoon), cut out a hole in the center of each cupcake and set aside. NOTE: resist the urge to eat the centers of the cupcakes! You still need these.
  6. Spoon the double berry jelly into the centers of each cupcake and then top with the piece of cake you pulled out of the center. Frost with chocolate frosting and top with a raspberry.
This recipe makes 24 very satisfying cupcakes and will provide you with extra delicious jelly for biscuits, toast, and PB&Js.

2 thoughts on “WEEK8 – Double Berry Jelly (Stuffed Cupcakes)

  1. Vicky Leitnaker says:

    Jaimie- I LOVE your blog! It is so clever and hearing all the details about your pregnancy makes me feel like I’m part of it. I’ve told my whole family your pregnant. They know you are a special friend to me and know I’m so happy for both of you. I can’t believe Devon figured it out from our posts. I didn’t, although I did wonder what made your Christmas so extra special.

Leave a Reply

