Daily Archives: February 29, 2012

WEEK7 – Blueberry Lime Jelly

Today I’m going to reminisce about WEEK 7 of my pregnancy.  This is the week that Jeff and I started to tell everyone our good news!

Here is one of my favorite responses – Jeff’s mom. We decided to invite Jeff’s mom, Jeff’s Grandma and Step-Dad to have dinner with us in their home town to share our news with them. But, we wanted to do something fun, rather than just saying out loud “We’re pregnant!”. So, before heading their way I took a picture of one of our positive pregnancy tests with the Christmas tree in the background and had it developed along with a bunch of other random Christmas photos. Our plan was to wait for one of them to ask about Christmas with my side of the family, which at that point I would pull out a package of photos from my purse and say, “Oh! We have pictures! Want to take a look?”

We waited and waited for a mention of Christmas, but it never came up.  So, just before our food was brought out I began to empty my purse onto the table – the iPad, the photos, a glass jar Jeff’s mom gave back to us that had contained homemade blackberry jalapeno jelly – all under the guise of searching for a lip balm.  As I began to put everything back into my purse Jeff’s mom said to me, “What photos are those?”  I handed them to her and casually said, “Oh, just some pictures of Christmas”.  She slowly looked through them, taking her time with each one, asking questions.

Once she finnnnnnnally got to the pregnancy test photo she jerked her head forward to get a better look, moved the photo so that she had better light, looked at me, looked at Jeff, looked back at the photo and then quietly asked, “Is that what I think it is? Are you… … …pregnant?!?!” Upon our confirmation she flipped her lid with excitement!!  Everyone in the restaurant turned around to look at the commotion. She hugged me, hugged Jeff, squealed, cried… It was quite a show.  All this while Jeff’s grandma and Step-Dad were trying to figure out what was going on. She showed the photo to them and they both became excited as well.  A friend of Jeff’s mom was sitting all the way across the room from us and came over to congratulate us. It was a fun and memorable night filled with laughter, shrieks and happy tears.

Jeff’s mom wasn’t the only one excited for us. I was and still am overwhelmed by the joy and excitement that everyone has for us. Our close friends and family all know that this is something that we’ve been wanting and praying about for two years, and now that it’s finally happened… I don’t know that I’ll ever be able to put into words how blessed I feel and how thrilled I am.

Today’s blog focus: BLUEBERRIES. At WEEK 7 our baby was half an inch long and about the size of a blueberry. Hands and feet had begun to emerge from developing arms and legs and his/her eyes had started to develop color.

Blueberry Lime Jelly

I had a dream the other night where the Pioneer Woman knocked on my door and asked me what I was going to make when it was time to use the WEEK 7 blueberry. My instant response was “Blueberry Lime Syrup”. And then I woke up. I struggled between whether or not I really wanted to make a syrup or if I’d rather make a jam or jelly. What I ended up making was something in between the two. Not liquid enough to technically be a syrup, however it didn’t firm up to technical jelly/jam status. But what it DID do was make my biscuits taste AMAZING. I wouldn’t recommend using this for a PB&J, but for toast, biscuits and fingers? Oh yes.

Ingredients:

  • 1 (11-oz) carton of blueberries
  • 1 c white sugar
  • juice of two limes

Directions:

  1. Wash blueberries and remove any stems that may still be attached.
  2. Combine blueberries, sugar and lime juice in a small pan and place over medium heat for 10 minutes (boil for 2 minutes, then reduce heat to a simmer).
  3. Allow mixture to cool, then blend using a stick blender.
  4. Cool completely in the refrigerator. Enjoy on biscuits, bagels, toast… whatever your heart desires.