WEEK6 – Pasta with Capers, Cauliflower and Parmesan

Today I’m celebrating WEEK 6 – the week my morning sickness began.
Before WEEK 6 I honestly believed that perhaps morning sickness was more of a mind-over-matter sorta thing. Boy was I wrong.  And I’ll tell you something else – who ever came up with the term “morning sickness” was also wrong. Mine didn’t hit until around 2 PM and lasted the rest of the day and night.  There was nothing “morning” about it.
In all honesty, even though the nausea was the opposite of enjoyable it never really bothered me. Up until WEEK 6 I had moments of doubt and disbelief as to whether or not I was really pregnant or if I was just having a very vivid dream.  Sure, I was experiencing a whole new level of exhaustion, but I figured that could have been in my head.  Other than the extreme tiredness that caused me to go to bed at 8:30PM every night I had no other symptoms and it made me pause from time to time. Silly, yes. But definitely true. Once the nausea came on it was like the proof that I’d been looking for.  And I welcomed it.
During my weeks of morning sickness induced nausea nothing sounded good to me except for carbs. Pasta and bread were all I wanted. Of course, those’s were not the only things I ate. But they sure were the only things I craved (along with the occasional cheeseburger).  Jeff got good at making a pasta dish for me that was loosely based on one of my favorite recipes by Michael Symon that combines angel hair pasta with capers and Parmesan cheese. Thus bringing us to…
Today’s blog focus: CAPERS.  At WEEK 6 our baby was already 1/4 of an inch long, roughly the size of a caper. His/Her arm and leg buds had just started to form and blood had started circulating. Also, his/her adorable nose, precious mouth and tiny ears had just started to develop.

Pasta with Capers, Cauliflower and Parmesan

I’ll admit it – I like(d) to watch The Chew on ABC. It’s totally silly and corny and at times a bit racy but by golly, those folks are entertaining. For the past six weeks I’ve been unsuccessful at sitting down and watching any food related television (makes me want to throw-up) so I’ve not been watching it for a while now. But before I was pregnant I watched the episode where Michael Symon made this dish in under 5 minutes. So… with that said, here is a DELICIOUS dish that is super fast to make and also very budget friendly. You simply can’t go wrong with this one.

Ingredients:

  • 1 jar Capers
  • 1 box Angel Hair Pasta
  • 1 bunch Cauliflower
  • 1 small block Parmesan Cheese
  • Parsley
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Crushed Red Pepper Flakes (optional)
  • 3 garlic gloves (optional)

Directions:

  1. Bring a pot of salted water to a boil to cook the angel hair. When boiling, add the angel hair.
  2. In the meantime, cut cauliflower into small pieces, chop the parsley and garlic. In a large saute pan over medium-high heat, add a tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil, then the cauliflower. Add the garlic, red pepper flakes, and capers, and stir. Garlic and red pepper flakes and always around in my pantry so throw them in if you got them but don’t sweat it if you don’t.
  3. When the pasta is ready, strain and add to the pan. Mix the pasta with the pan ingredients and add some grated Parmesan and the parsley. Add a little of the pasta water to the pan to help create the sauce. To serve garnish with some more grated Parmesan.

2 thoughts on “WEEK6 – Pasta with Capers, Cauliflower and Parmesan

  1. Your pasta looks delicious! I’ve always enjoyed broccoli in pasta, and have not yet tried cauliflower I also love the tangy strong taste of capers, so this is pasta sounds fantastic. Glad I found you on Tasty Kitchen and hope you’re having a great day!

Leave a Reply

