WEEK5 – Sesame Seed Crackers

Today in “Blogging How Big My Baby Is” we are celebrating WEEK 5 – the week of the cloth diaper craziness.

Long before Jeff and I ever saw the POSITIVE indicator on the pregnancy test(s – we did more than one because we just couldn’t believe what we were seeing) on Christmas day, we decided that if God were to ever bless us with a baby we would use cloth diapers. Now before you try and convince me how crazy we are let me tell you now that we’re not budging. No sir, our minds are set. The positives (less landfill waste, much cheaper, and absolutely adorable) outweigh the negatives (not as convenient and having to clean poopy diapers).

Because a cloth diaper is no longer just a piece of cloth that’s been safety pinned at the hips, I decided that I had better do some research on today’s diaper. What I found was that there are practically a billion different options out there right now… diaper covers (like the adorable Peachy Green Diaper pictured above), all-in-one diapers, wool diapers, fitted diapers, all-in-two diapers that require inserts and soakers, organic diapers, pocket diapers, prefold diapers, one-size-fits-all diapers… TOO MANY DIAPERS. In my research I discovered a store called Happybottomus located in Overland Park that sells nothing but cloth diapers/supplies. In my excitement I quickly called my mom and my mother-in-law to see if one or both would be interested in going and checking out the store with me. Both were, so we planned a nice late lunch lunch at Pei Wei followed by a leisurely stroll through Happybottomus, where I planned to take my time looking the different diaper styles, ask friendly sales associates a multitude of questions, and perhaps even select a few super cute diapers to take home and practice assembling. Ah, sounds nice, right?

WRONG.

Happybottomus was insane. 30 minutes before we arrived the sales clerk received a phone call from the store’s manager saying “Post SALE signs in all of the windows – today is the last day this store will be open”.  The handful of shoppers who were in the store when the clerk got the shocking news began to frantically pull things off the shelves in a crazy manner while also multiplying in numbers as they phoned/facebooked/tweeted/texted all of their friends to get over to the store ASAP before everything was GONE. By the time we arrived the store was PACKED full of hysterical mothers grabbing and yanking and stuffing anything and everything they could get their hands on into their basket. So, of course, we did the same.

We split up. My mom took one corner and my mother-in-law took another while I jumped in the middle. I grabbed as many all-in-ones/all-in-twos that I could (having no idea what I was grabbing). My mom swiped handfuls of the original white cotton diapers and safety clips.  My mother-in-law filled her basket with liners and soakers.  Everything was 50% off and it was all flying off the shelves in a mad frenzy.

Once we had filled our baskets and arms to capacity we gathered together to look over our stash. I had NO idea if what we’d grabbed even made sense. But I didn’t care. I figured if one of those other vulture mothers thought they needed it, I was sure I did too. We matched soakers and liners to appropriate covers, reviewed diaper sizes to make sure we were getting what I needed, and then took one more look around the store. The shelves were practically empty. The poor sales clerk looked exhausted. I felt as if I’d just experienced the Day After Thanksgiving Shopping War and I was glad that I had escaped without any cuts or bruises.

The sweet sales clerk who rang us up told us that she’d already gone through a similar situation. This wasn’t her first unexpected store closing rodeo. We felt terrible for her, knowing that when she closed the store doors that night she would be out of a job. She, however, was confident that a new job was just around the corner. I sure hope she was right.

We spent over $100 that day – about $88 more than I had expected. But I brought home a big bag full of environmentally friendly and 100% adorable diapers and I can’t WAIT to see what our sweet baby girl or boy will look like in them. They are so tiny and adorable I just can’t imagine how completely precious they will be on!

Speaking of tiny and adorable…

Today’s blog focus: SESAME SEEDS. At WEEK 5 our baby was the size of a sesame seed. He/She still looked more like a tadpole than a human and his/her heart began dividing into chambers.

Sesame Seed Crackers

This is an Alton Brown recipe. I’ve already professed my love for Alton in previous blogs, so I’ll refrain from gushing over his charm and intelligence in this one. My husband and I LOVE these crackers. We enjoyed playing around with different toppings.  Alton suggests using a pasta machine for super thin crackers. We simply rolled ours out and were quite happy with how they turned out.

Ingredients

  • 5 ounces whole-wheat flour
  • 4 3/4 ounces all-purpose flour, plus additional for rolling
  • 1  1/2 TBSP poppy seeds (Alton calls for 1/3 cup)
  • 1/3 cup sesame seeds
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons table salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons aluminum-free baking powder
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 6 1/2 ounces water
  • TOPPINGS: dried herbs (we used my favorite – herbes de provence), Parmesan cheese, cracked black pepper, paprika, different seasonings, tomato powder, etc.

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl whisk together both flours, poppy seeds, sesame seeds, celery seeds, salt, and baking powder. Add the oil and stir until combined. Add the water and stir to combine and create a dough. Turn the dough out onto a floured surface and knead 4 to 5 times. Divide the dough into 8 or 9 equal pieces, cover with a tea towel and allow to rest for 15 minutes.
  2. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F.
  3. For a thin snacking cracker: On a lightly floured surface, roll out 1 piece of dough to 1/16-inch and place on a parchment lined baking sheet. Top with additional toppings if desired. If there is room on the sheet pan, repeat with a second piece of dough. Bake on the middle rack of the oven for 6-7 minutes or until golden brown. Remove from the oven and place on a cooling rack. When cool, break into desired size pieces. Repeat procedure with remaining dough.
  4. For a thicker dipping cracker: On a lightly floured surface, roll out the dough as above but to 1/8-inch thick. Top with additional toppings if desired. Bake for 10-12 minutes.

Note: Baking times will vary depending on exact thickness of dough and oven temperature, so watch them closely. Store in an airtight container for up to 2 weeks.

3 thoughts on “WEEK5 – Sesame Seed Crackers

  1. Shannon says:

    Oh Jaimie!! First of all, I’m so completely and totally in love with the idea that you are in love with cloth diapers! I was too! Still am honestly. We did try them and I’d have done them all 6ish years of diapers I had if I would have had a little support. So.. anytime you need some support, let me know!! I love the cloth diapers they have now. I hope I get a chance to go through all your stuff you got! I love doing that! I was so excited when you started talking about this store and already planned in my head that I was going to go there next time we came out.. how sad to keep reading that they are closed!! Also! I LOVE Alton Brown too! I could listen to him all day long… almost….. these look really good too and someday I hope to have the time to make them!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Hello,

    Love, Love, Love cloth diapers, I am sure you have seen these, but I loved them when my friend used them. I did not know about them when my girls were little, and just used Gerber cloth.

    http://www.gdiapers.com

Leave a Reply

