Blondies with Chocolate Chips and Walnuts

I have a confession. I love Martha Stewart. I really do.

I know. You think she’s the devil. I say “Nay”.

Sure, back in 2001 she told a lie that landed her in jail – not a good thing. But, she did her time. (And yes, I own a shirt just like this one and loved to wear it back in the day.)

At one time in my life I had a subscription to each and every one of her magazines. Oh, those were the days… Now that we’re attempting to live a more frugal life, I’ve canceled all of my subscriptions. But I do look at her website frequently – especially around holidays and when I’m looking for a new recipe to try.

This recipe that I’m posting today is one of hers. And it’s fantastic. I promise, even if you don’t like Martha, you’ll love these.

BLONDIES WITH CHOCOLATE CHIPS AND WALNUTS

Ever find yourself in the mood to eat cookies but not in the mood for all of the work involved? You know what I mean… Mixing the dough, portioning it out onto cookie sheets, rotating them in the oven half-way through the cycle, transferring hot cookies to a cooling rack just so that you start over with the portioning, rotating and transferring over and over again… It can be exhausting at times. That’s why having a delicious bar cookie recipe comes in so handy. Mix the dough, plop it in a pan, put in the oven and WALK AWAY. Go read a book. Or catch up on a show. Or take a 45 minute nap. Whatever you like!

This recipe below is one of my all time favorites. As mentioned above, it’s one of Martha Stewart’s. I always double it and put it in a 9×13 pan. It makes thicker bars, which I love. And it makes MORE bars, which I also love. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted, plus more for pan
  • 1/2 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour, (spooned and leveled)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Brush an 8-inch square baking pan with butter; line pan with a piece of parchment paper, leaving a 2-inch overhang on two sides. Butter paper.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk butter and sugars until smooth. Whisk in egg and vanilla. Add flour and salt; mix just until moistened (do not overmix). Fold in 1/2 cup each chocolate chips and walnuts. Transfer batter to prepared pan; smooth top. Sprinkle with remaining chocolate chips and walnuts.
  3. Bake until top is golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, 40 to 45 minutes. Set pan on a wire rack, and let cool completely. Using parchment overhang, lift cake from pan and transfer to a cutting board; cut into 16 squares.

Leave a Reply

