Spicy Chickpea Snack

It’s almost December. I’m not ready for November to be over yet. I have too many things to do before December gets here. Like… figure December out:

  • When are we going to mail our Christmas cards?
  • When will be get our annual letter typed up?
  • Will we be getting a real tree this year or putting up our tiny fake one?
  • If we get a real tree, where the heck will it go?
  • What do I want for Christmas?
  • What does EVERYONE ELSE WANT for Christmas?
  • Are we going to hang lights in the windows?
  • How many batches of cookies should I make?
  • When will I go shopping for gifts?
I always feel better when I have a MASTER PLAN clearly laid out in front of me. Time lines. Check-lists. Goals. That’s why I made myself a handy-dandy Christmas Planner tonight. It fits in my purse and has a place for me to keep all of my gift receipts, a calendar to help me plan all of our fun and festive events, a lists of present ideas and TO DO’s, and perhaps most importantly, a section to record all of the recipes I’d like to try.
My husband says, “only you would make something like that”.
Perhaps.  Perhaps not.  I have no idea.  One thing I DO know is that he thinks I’m crazy.
Another thing I know – if I didn’t have a planner, I would eventually GO crazy.
(If you’d like to make a planner yourself, check out this awesome craft blog. And then let me know so that I can tell my husband that there are more people out there like ME.)

SPICY CHICKPEA SNACK

Did you know that chickpeas (a.k.a garbanzo beans) are really quite good for you?  These high protein and fiber gems provide an excellent source of molybdenum (a trace mineral that is needed for the body’s mechanism to detoxify sulfites, which are a preservative commonly found in beverages and foods such as wine and luncheon meats). They are also a low in fat and are a very good source of folic acid, fiber, and manganese in addition to minerals such as iron, copper, zinc, and magnesium.

Two great benefits of eating chickpeas are: 1). they can help lower your cholesterol, and 2). they can improve your blood sugar levels. However, if you’ve ever had problems with kidney stones, you shouldn’t over do it when snacking on these little guys.  They contain purines which can lead to an excess accumulation of uric acid, which may contribute to kidney stones.

With all that said, these delicious orbs of flavor are a fantastic healthy snack!  They’re crispy and spicy and sooooo very tasty.  One can of chickpeas will serve 3, so if you’re having a party and are thinking about setting a few bowls of these out for folks to snack on (excellent idea, by the way), consider doubling or even tripling the recipe. Believe me, you’ll be glad you did!

Ingredients:

  • 1 (15 oz) can chickpeas, rinsed and dried
  • 1 TBSP olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp salt (or more, if you like)
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Combine olive oil and spices in a bowl. Add rinsed and dried chickpeas and mix to combine.
  3. Spread evenly on a baking sheet and bake for 15 min; then stir. Bake another 10 minutes.

My guess is that as soon as you make these you’ll be wishing you’d doubled the batch. Because they’re that good.

One thought on “Spicy Chickpea Snack

  1. Kathie Duguid says:

    I do not care for chickpeas in general, but maybe I need to try this recipe.

Leave a Reply

