Candied Ginger

I’m very proud of myself today.  Not only did I candy my own ginger, but I learned how to insert SHORT LINKS into my blog.  See the list of ten suggested recipes that utilize candied ginger as proof:

1).  Candied Ginger Mascarpone Ice Cream

2).  Sweet Coconut Rice with Candied Ginger

3).  Alton Brown’s Good Eats Roasted Turkey

4).  Free Range Fruitcake

5).  Blueberry Peach Cobbler

6).  Caramel Apple Egg Rolls

7).  Champagne Ginger Cocktail

8).  Overnight Citrus Ginger Ring

9).  Gingered Pear Preserves

10).  Harvest Pumpkin Scones

Pretty great, eh?

So, crystallizing ginger isn’t difficult at all.  The hardest part is peeling the ginger.  However, thanks to my kitchen-gadget-loving-mom, we have a tool that makes peeling ginger easy-peasy! (See? I did it again! Short links are AWESOME!)

This little tool made short work of peeling all of the ginger I needed for this recipe.  It fits in your palm comfortably and is easily manipulated. The blade scrapes away the delicate skin with very little effort and creates minimal waste. The blade also fits into the small nooks and crannies of the ginger, allowing you to quickly nick out pieces you’d prefer to throw away. Very handy.

The initial reason I wanted to candy my own ginger was because of the Harvest Pumpkin Scones (10th recipe in the list above) I made several weeks ago. But, I never got around to doing it… until today. Why today? Because this year for Thanksgiving I’ll be using a recipe that requires candied ginger to brine my turkey (3rd recipe in the list above).  And, I don’t know if you’ve ever purchased crystallized/candied ginger before, but it turns out that making it yourself is much more cost effective – and satisfying.

I can tell already that I should have made more than I did.  It tastes so good!  Both my husband and I can’t help but to grab a piece each time we walk by.  The good news is, ginger is incredibly healthy for you! It relieves heart burn and migraines and boosts your immune system.  It’s also a natural cure for morning sickness – so tell all of your pregnant friends!

My one and only tip for you is this: make sure you have a cooling rack to lay your ginger out on once you remove it from the syrup.  If your plan is to just pour it out onto a piece of waxed paper, you will be disappointed as it will just glop together in a big messy mound.

CANDIED GINGER

This is another one of Alton Brown’s best! Original recipe here.

Ingredients:

  • Nonstick spray
  • 1 pound fresh ginger root
  • 5 cups water
  • Approximately 1 pound white sugar

Directions:

  1. Spray a cooling rack with nonstick spray and set it in a half  sheet pan (or cookie sheet) lined with parchment.
  2. Peel the ginger root and slice into 1/8-inch thick slices. Place into a 4-quart saucepan with the water and set over medium-high heat. Cover and cook for 35 minutes or until the ginger is tender.
  3. Transfer the ginger to a colander to drain, reserving 1/4 cup of the cooking liquid. Weigh the ginger and measure out an equal amount of sugar.
  4. Return the ginger and 1/4 cup water to the pan and add the sugar. Set over medium-high heat and bring to a boil, stirring frequently. Reduce the heat to medium and cook, stirring frequently, until the sugar syrup looks dry, has almost evaporated and begins to recrystallize, approximately 20 minutes (however, mine took significantly longer).
  5. Transfer the ginger immediately to the cooling rack and spread to separate the individual pieces. Once completely cool, store in an airtight container for up to 2 weeks.

As per Alton’s instructions, we saved the sugar that collected on our cookie sheet and plan to use it for cookies and coffee later. YUM!

One thought on “Candied Ginger

Leave a Reply

