Springfield Chili

My feet are freezing.  Why?  Because I’m wearing flip-flops and it’s a whole 48 degrees outside.  I don’t know what it is about me and flip-flops.  I love them and I always have.  And why wouldn’t I?  They go with everything.  Jeans and a sweater, shorts and a t-shirt, dress shirts and khakis, wedding gowns… the possibilities are endless!  And they come in just about every color combination you can imagine.  I’m wearing bright yellow ones right now.  But the best thing about flip-flops is that they just slide right on.  100% hassle free.  No bending over and tugging at the heel, no shoe laces to tie, no straps to cross over and lay down just right, and no stinking buckles. And they come off as easily as they go on.  What’s to hate about that?

I will wear my flip-flops until it’s absolutely ridiculous to do so.  I know what you’re thinking – it’s 48 degrees and that time is now.  I say no – not yet.  Perhaps 48 degrees is a bit ridiculous for flip-flops. But ABSOLUTELY ridiculous?  Not quite.  Now, if there was snow on the ground – yes, absolutely.  If it was 48 degrees and wet outside – yes, absolutely.  But this I can manage.

Freezing feet I can manage as well.  As soon as I come home I slip out of my flips and into my awesome sock monkey slippers.  Man oh man, do I love my sock monkey slippers.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Springfield Chili

This chili recipe is my new favorite chili recipe.  It’s healthier than the standard all beef versions because it uses mostly ground turkey and some lean ground beef.  And the taste is just awesome.  The cumin and chili powder and Worcestershire sauce all work so well together with tomatoes and onions.  My favorite reason for making this chili?  It gives me an excuse to buy my favorite beer: Leinenkugel Sunset Wheat. And because this recipe only calls for one beer, it leaves 5 in your refrigerator… 4 if you decide to double the recipe.  Enjoy!

Ingredients: (Serves 6)

  • 1 bacon slice, finely chopped
  • 1 1/2 c diced onion
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 pound coarsely ground turkey breast
  • 1/2 pound coarsely ground sirloin
  • 1 (12-ounce) bottle of beer (we prefer using a wheat beer)
  • 3 tablespoons chili powder
  • 2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt (or more, depending on your preference)
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 (14 1/2-ounce) can diced tomatoes, undrained (if you have Red Gold tomatoes as an option, buy them!)
  • 1 (8-ounce) can tomato sauce (again, Red Gold is the best brand – I love them!)
  • 1 (15-ounce) can pinto beans OR black beans, rinsed and drained

Directions:

  1. Cook bacon in a large Dutch oven over medium heat 5 minutes or until browned. Stir in 2 cups onion; cover and cook until onion is tender (about 5 minutes). Uncover and stir in garlic; cook for 1 minute. Your kitchen should smell amazing by now.
  2. Increase heat to medium-high; add turkey and sirloin to pan. Cook 5 minutes or until browned, stirring to crumble. Add beer; cook until liquid is reduced to 1/3 cup (about 7 minutes). Stir in chili powder and next 5 ingredients (through tomato sauce). Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 30 minutes or until mixture thickens. Stir in beans; cook 10 minutes or until thoroughly heated.
Pour chili into bowls or on top of a baked potato or hot dog or pile of fries… top with whatever you like!  Cheese, sour cream, tomatoes, green onions, crushed Saltine crackers… go crazy!
Leave a Reply

