Dog Cheese Twists

Quick!  What’s the first thing you think of when someone says November?  Got it?  Okay, let’s say them out loud together on three! 1, 2, 3 – NATIONAL COOK FOR YOUR PET DAY!!!  I know, pretty incredible, right?  🙂

Okay, I admit it.  I had no idea that National Cook for Your Pet Day existed either.  But it does and it’s today – November 1st.  Don’t believe me?  I don’t blame you.  So, by all means, google it.

After yesterday’s gluttonous feasting, it was a relief to focus today’s blog on our animals’ diets.  However, because the closest I’ve ever come to cooking for our dog and cat has been to let them lick my mostly empty ice cream or cereal bowls, I decided that I needed help coming up with an appropriate recipe for them.  Luckily, I found a fascinating website today that has a bunch of different recipes available for folks with a variety of pets.  Care for an example? Or five?  Let’s say you have a dog with bad breath.  You can make him a Minty Fresh Herbal Dog Bone.  Have a cat who likes to work the crowds?  How about making her a Ham It Up Kitty Treat.  Got any birds that deserve a special goodie?  Why not make them some Birdie Pudding?  What about a horse with a sweet tooth?  Try making him Horse Cookies.  They have it all at http://cookforyourpets.com/recipes/.

We made the Dog Cheese Twists this afternoon.  Both Ruby (our dog) and Lola (the dog we’ve been sitting for the past four days) went nuts for these things!  Absolutely nuts!  It was almost as if they knew from the very beginning that they were getting a special treat made just for them.  They were both in the kitchen with me every step of the way.  And after they came out of the oven it was like torture for ALL of us waiting for the twists to cool off enough to feed them to the girls.

I know what you’re thinking. What about Dominick (our cat)?  It’s not fair that I didn’t make him something – especially on this very special day.  Believe me when I say that I feel terrible that I didn’t.  So, I plan to make it up to him.  Perhaps with a frozen Cat Tuna Pop.  Or maybe a Feline Fish Ball.  Regardless of the treat, I plan to wait until I have a cold so that my nose will be stuffed up enough that I won’t be able to smell what I’m making.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

DOG CHEESE TWISTS

Ingredients

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup cornmeal
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese, divided
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup water

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Mix all ingredients except 1/4 cup parmesan cheese. Knead until thoroughly mixed. Roll dough into quarter-sized balls. Roll balls into pencil-shaped “sticks” and roll in remaining parmesan until coated. Flatten with rolling pin or by hand. Twist each about 6-8 time and place on ungreased baking sheet. Bake 30 minutes. Cool on pan and store in airtight container.

Yields 18 (or more) sticks.

One thought on “Dog Cheese Twists

Leave a Reply

