Pumpkin Pecan Dessert

It’s the day before Halloween and I’m completely unprepared.  Well, not completely.  I did buy a bag of candy for the 3 or 4 trick-or-treaters that we may or may not get tomorrow.  But as for everything else – I’m not ready.  The pumpkins are not carved.  I haven’t put out any decorations.  My front door step is spiderweb-less.  There is no orange bucket covering up our porch light.  And I have NO IDEA what we’re going to have for dinner tomorrow. This is a problem.

On Jeff’s and my very first Halloween I made a delicious and very appropriate meal – monster meat steaks, curried brains, and peas.  (What? Oh come now… peas go with everything.)  On our second Halloween we dined on worms with blood sauce, martian brains and ladies fingers (complete with red finger nails).  And then last Halloween we enjoyed coffin dip, bacon wrapped bugs (thanks to my good friend Devon, who’s birthday is TODAY!), eyeball pizzas (which didn’t end up looking so eyeballish but still were reminiscent of a very particular body part…), and fossil cookies.  This Halloween… I just don’t know.

I’ll get it figured out in time, I’m sure.  If not, I can always fall back on slime soup with giant’s toes as a garnish.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

PUMPKIN PECAN DESSERT

This is a recipe I got from a friend at my very first job in Kansas City. She made it for a co-worker’s birthday and it was fantastic!

Ingredients: (serves 12)

  • 1 can (15 oz) pumpkin (not pumpkin pie mix)
  • 1 can (12 oz) evaporated milk
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. ginger
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1 box yellow cake mix (we used Betty Crocker’s Super Moist yellow cake mix)
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped pecans
  • 3/4 cup butter or margarine, melted
  • Whipped cream, if desired
  • Additional nutmeg, if desired

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Spray or grease a 9×13 inch baking pan and set aside.  In a medium bowl beat together pumpkin, milk, eggs, sugar, cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg until smooth. Pour into greased pan.
  2. Sprinkle dry cake mix over top of pumpkin mix evenly. Sprinkle with pecans.  Pour melted butter evenly over the top.
  3. Bake for 50-60 minutes – a knife inserted should come out clean once it’s done baking.
  4. Let cool for 30 minutes. Then top with whipped cream and nutmeg. Enjoy!
Store leftovers (if you have any!) in the refrigerator.
2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pecan Dessert

  1. Sharon says:

    I made this one and it is yummy! Friend even asked for recipe. Goes in my “to keep” box for sure.

Leave a Reply

