Harvest Pumpkin Scones

10/18/2011
Last night I drank a Diet Coke after 7PM.  I knew better, but I still did it – and I paid the price.  I don’t know what it is about me and caffeine, but we just do not get along after 7PM. My husband doesn’t have an issue with evening caffeine. He can drink two cups of coffee right before going to bed and suffers none.  My old roommate could do that, too.  I am the only person I know who has a caffeine curfew.
So, last night after my husband went to bed I stayed up and looked though all of my friends’ pin-boards on Pinterest (http://pinterest.com/).  I did this for hours.  After I caught up on all of the delicious recipes and fun stylings that the people I know were pinning I started to look at strangers’ pins.  I searched for random combinations of words like “PORCUPINE” and “PUMPKIN”.  (Note – must try drilling tons of holes into a pumpkin this year and fill them with tiny white Christmas lights). I do not recall how I stumbled across it, but somehow I landed on this:
21 SUGGESTIONS FOR SUCCESS, by H. Jackson Brown, Jr.
  1. Marry the right person. This one decision will determine 90% of your happiness or misery.
  2. Work at something you enjoy and that’s worthy of your time and talent.
  3. Give people more than they expect and do it cheerfully.
  4. Become the most positive and enthusiastic person you know.
  5. Be forgiving of yourself and others.
  6. Be generous.
  7. Have a grateful heart.
  8. Persistence, persistence, persistence.
  9. Discipline yourself to save money on even the most modest salary.
  10. Treat everyone you meet like you want to be treated.
  11. Commit yourself to constant improvement.
  12. Commit yourself to quality.
  13. Understand that happiness is not based on possessions, power or prestige, but on relationships with people you love and respect.
  14. Be loyal.
  15. Be honest.
  16. Be a self-starter.
  17. Be decisive even if it means you’ll sometimes be wrong.
  18. Stop blaming others. Take responsibility for every area of your life.
  19. Be bold and courageous. When you look back on your life, you’ll regret the things you didn’t do more than the ones you did.
  20. Take good care of those you love.
  21. Don’t do anything that wouldn’t make your Mom proud.
It’s been a long time since I’ve read over this list – I’m so glad I found it last night.  I love it and I think it’s brilliant.  I want to cross-stitch it onto something… or paint it on one of our walls.  Really, how could you not have a more “successful” life when you see this every day?
By the by, #13 is my favorite.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

HARVEST PUMPKIN SCONES

I used this recipe:  http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/harvest-pumpkin-scones-recipe

Ingredients:

  • 2 3/4 cups flour (all white or a mixture of white and wheat)
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1/2 cup cold butter
  • 1 cup to 2 cups minced crystallized ginger, cinnamon, or chocolate chips
  • 2/3 cup canned pumpkin
  • 2 large eggs
  • coarse white sparkling sugar, for topping

Directions:

  1. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and spices.
  2. Work in the butter just until the mixture is unevenly crumbly; it’s OK for some larger chunks of butter to remain unincorporated.
  3. Stir in the ginger and/or chips, if you’re using them.
  4. In a separate mixing bowl, whisk together the pumpkin and eggs till smooth.
  5. Add the pumpkin/egg to the dry ingredients and stir until all is moistened and holds together.
  6. Line a baking sheet with parchment; if you don’t have parchment, just use it without greasing it. Sprinkle a bit of flour atop the parchment or pan.
  7. Scrape the dough onto the floured parchment or pan, and divide it in half. Round each half into a 5″ circle (if you haven’t incorporated any add-ins); or a 6″ circle (if you’ve added 2 cups of fruit, nuts, etc.). The circles should be about 3/4″ thick.
  8. Brush each circle with milk, and sprinkle with coarse white sparkling sugar or cinnamon sugar, if desired.
  9. Using a knife or bench knife that you’ve run under cold water, slice each circle into 6 wedges.
These scones are fantastic.  I doubled the recipe when I made them and used 1 cup of chocolate chips for one batch and 1 cup of cinnamon chips for the other.  Both Jeff and I agreed that we preferred the cinnamon chips version to the chocolate chip version. But don’t get me wrong – I’d be a happy happy girl if I woke up to some freshly baked chocolate chip pumpkin scones tomorrow morning. Indeed I would!
2 thoughts on “Harvest Pumpkin Scones

Leave a Reply

