Guacamole

10/8/2011

Seven or eight weeks ago I heard what sounded to me like a small child squawking just outside our kitchen window. Ruby (our dog) heard it too.  We both went to the back door to see if a toddler had somehow wandered into our backyard, but we saw no one. So we lost interest. However, just a few minutes later we heard it again – the gleeful sounds of a happy screeching child. Curious and confused, we decided to go outside and sit down on the patio for awhile in hopes of finding our “baby”. Again we heard the squawk. Ruby’s head cocked to the side, so did mine. Was there a baby in our TREE?  Or maybe the dog house? Nope. We checked both. No baby.

When my husband came home that afternoon I told him about the noises we’d heard and he said, “That’s weird – I wonder if it was some sort of bird”.  Well of course it was. I’ve just got babies on the brain.

Since that day we’ve heard lots of new and interesting “voices” coming from our back yard. Jeff told me about a week ago he heard the bird screaming, “Momma! Momma! Momma! Momma!” as he pulled into the driveway.  Just this Wednesday as I sat in my office working on invoices and customer thank you notes I listened as the bird screamed “Noooooo! Noooooo! Nooooooooooooooo!”  That was difficult to sit through.  I much prefer the sounds of laughter and the occasional “I don’t know, I don’t know, I don’t know, I don’t know…”

As I write now I’m being serenaded by our new neighbor friend with a mixture of  “meows” and “What?!”

At first I found it rather disturbing. Mostly because it took me awhile to figure out where the noise was coming from. But also because it’s difficult to listen to anyone, even a bird, hollering “No! Stop! No! Stop!”  But on the days, like today, when it’s mimicking barn yard animals and baby’s cooing, it’s hard not to smile.

I’ve decided to name the bird Jack. I have no idea what it’s real name is. But I think Jack is perfect. If I can figure out a way to do it I’d love to sneak over to our neighbor’s house and set a radio outside the bird’s window and see if Jack picks up any new tricks. Wouldn’t that be fun? Perhaps in a few weeks instead of hearing, “Maybe, maybe, maybe, maybe…” we’ll hear, “Tell me do you think it’d be alright if I could just crash here tonight? As you see I’m in no shape for drivin’ and anyway I’ve got no place to go…”. Oh Jack, if you learned just one Gin Blossom’s song I’d be the happiest girl on the block.

By the way, this is some pretty fantastic guacamole. It’s not a perfect match for Chipotle’s, which is what I was going for. But it’s close enough to make me happy. Recipe is a modified version of this recipe: http://pinterest.com/pin/279447788/. We used an extra avocado and added some heat.

GUACAMOLE

(serves 4 happily)

Ingredients:

  • 4 medium avocados, cubed
  • 1 jalapeno, de-seeded and de-veined, minced
  • 1/3 c red onion, finely diced (if you ask me, raw onion is ALWAYS optional)
  • 3 garlic cloves, freshly minced
  • 24 cilantro leaves, chopped
  • 1/2 to 3/4 of a lime, juiced
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp (or more, if you dare) of your favorite hot sauce

Directions:

  1. Prep all of your ingredients before cutting into the avocados. Then mix together. Depending on how creamy you like your guac, you can either mash most, some or none of your avocados before combining with the other ingredients. We opted for a half chunky/half creamy dip and mashed just half.
  2. Serve with chips. Or use with fajitas. Or tacos. Or quesadillas. Or…
One thought on “Guacamole

  1. Kathie Duguid says:

    Very funny–a bit creepy, but funny.

Leave a Reply

