Spinach Salad with Chicken and Apples

9/28/2011

Let me break down my yesterday for you:

5:45 AM – woke up in Arizona and finished packing our bags

6:30 AM – hopped in the car and headed to the airport

7:15 AM – was searched by airport security for potential explosives (somehow my husband was able to avoid this – AGAIN)

7:30 AM – began our 1.5 hour wait to board our plane/take off for home

(somewhere between Arizona and Kansas we crossed over a few time zone lines and lost two hours)

1:30 PM – landed in Kansas City

2:30 PM – after waiting for what seemed like an eternity for our bags and a shuttle bus we were finally reunited with our car

3:15 PM – HOME SWEET HOME

I realize that 3:15 PM doesn’t sound late. In fact, it wasn’t. Not at all. But, I was tired and sun burnt and in no mood whatsoever to go grocery shopping for dinner.  So, I declared it another CHOPPED NIGHT at my house. (No clue what I’m talking about? http://www.foodnetwork.com/chopped/)

Jeff and I actually like to pretend we’re contestants on Chopped when we’re in the car. We take turns giving each other three to four outrageous ingredients and describe what dishes we’d come up with using them. For instance, if Jeff said to me, “Your ingredients are – carrots, butterscotch chips, and frozen waffles,” I’d say to him, “I’d tear up the waffles, shred the carrots, grab some sugar, milk, eggs and vanilla, and make a carrot bread pudding with a butterscotch sauce”.  Yum! Doesn’t that sound delicious? I kinda wish I had those things in my house right now… Ugh. I’m distracted by thoughts of bread pudding.

Back to my CHOPPED night last night! When I opened the door to our almost empty fridge I found a bag of spinach, four grapefruits, several Gala apples, seventeen different kinds of mustard (give or take a few), three bottles of salad dressing, and a plastic bowl with a lid with something very green inside... the kind of green that you just can’t trust.  Our freezer had several individual frozen steaks, a few bags of frozen pork tenderloin chops, frozen edamame, two pieces of frozen chicken, and an entire shelf of unmentionable items that we’re not allowed to even consider touching until we both loose 20 more pounds.

I grabbed the bag of spinach, an apple, the two pieces of frozen chicken, and the bottle of low-fat Sun-Dried Tomato Zesty Italian salad dressing that was hiding on the bottom shelf away from the other condiments and got to work. And let me tell you, my CHOPPED spinach salad with chicken and apples was a success. I loved it. The sweetness and cool crunch from the Gala apples paired perfectly with the warm grilled chicken. And the flavorful zing from the dressing brought everything together. This is something that I’ll be having again very very soon.

SPINACH SALAD WITH CHICKEN AND APPLES

(serves 1)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups pre-washed baby spinach leaves
  • 1 gala (or any sweet) apple, chopped
  • 4 oz sliced chicken, grilled and seasoned with salt and pepper
  • 2 TBSP of your favorite Italian salad dressing

Directions:

It’s so easy (and predictable) that I’m not going to type it out. But I will show you pictures of the salad making progression.

One thought on “Spinach Salad with Chicken and Apples

  1. Kathie Duguid says:

    Sounds really good.

Leave a Reply

