WEEK4 – Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins with a Vanilla Lemon Glaze

So. I have a really good excuse for why I’ve not blogged in a while. It’s because I’ve not been spending time in the kitchen. It’s because I’ve been too tired to focus on much more than figuring out what carb I’d like to ask my husband to bring me. It’s because I’ve been super nauseous and uninterested in anything other than pasta with capers and parm or bagels with peanut butter and sliced bananas.

It’s because I’m PREGNANT.

That’s right! I’m tin roof rusted. There’s a bun in my oven. A pea in my pod. This eggo is preggo. And we couldn’t be happier!

My husband and I tried for the past two years to start a family. At first when we weren’t having any success it didn’t upset me. I’d read lots of articles about couples taking up to 7 or 8 months to conceive. And we were told not to worry until we had tried for a year. But then a year went by. And then a year and a month. And a year and two months. A year and three months.

I began reading everything I could get my hands on about the difficulties of getting pregnant. We bought a juicer because one book I read suggested that going on a fresh juice diet 1 day each week might help. I also started tracking my basal temperatures daily by getting up at 6:45AM every morning to put a thermometer under my tongue for one minute. I stopped taking hot baths. We both changed our vitamins and started drinking herbal teas. But, to no avail, nothing seemed to help. And it really bothered me.

Bother isn’t quite the right word… more like devastated. With each month that came and went it got harder and harder to deal with. Getting pregnant was all I could think about.  Month after month of anxiety, waiting, and eventually being let down… it was becoming too much. So this past October I told my husband that the only way I was going to be able to enjoy the holidays was if we decided to take a break and stop trying for a few months.

As it turns out, that apparently is exactly what we needed. On Christmas morning we found out that our prayers had been answered – that we were pregnant.

How beautiful is that?

As of right now we are 12 weeks along which means our baby is just a tad bit over 2 inches in length or around the size of a lime. It also means that I may be nearing the end of my morning sickness. If that’s the case, I plan to throw a big party soon and will be inviting all of my favorite foods that I’ve not been able to enjoy for the past 6 weeks.

One of the crazy thoughts that I’ve had since finding out I was pregnant was this: “How fun would it be if each week I made something that featured the food item that our baby’s size is compared to? Or… would that be creepy? No, it’d be fun!”  So, with that decision made I’ve decided, now that I’m able to summon the energy and interest in baking/cooking again, that that is exactly what I’m going to do. And I’m going to spend the first couple of weeks getting caught up.

Today’s blog focus: the POPPY SEED.  Our baby was 4 weeks along when we found out we were pregnant and at 4 weeks they say your baby is the size of a teeny tiny itty bitty poppy seed.

Isn’t that just amazing?

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins with a Vanilla Lemon Glaze

My mother is a wonderful cook. Most of my favorite recipes are hers. And usually when I’m in need of a new recipe I’ll give her a call to see if she already has a good one. That is how I came across this recipe – my mom. She told me that these muffins are outstanding and I agree with her.  They are moist and spongy and have a wonderful natural lemon flavor.  The muffin itself isn’t too sweet making the glaze that goes on top a nice addition. The recipe comes from one of her Southern Living cookbooks. I only made a few changes.

Ingredients:

  • 1  3/4 c flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt (original recipe calls for 1/2 tsp)
  • 1/2 c white sugar
  • 1/4 c poppy seeds (original recipe calls for 3 TBSP)
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • zest of one lemon
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Combine first 5 ingredients in a large bowl, and make a well in center of mixture.
  2. Combine sour cream and next 4 ingredients; add to dry ingredients, stirring just until moistened.
  3. Spoon batter into greased muffin pans, filling two-thirds full. Bake at 400 degrees for 17 to 18 minutes or until lightly browned.
  4. Remove from pans immediately, and cool on wire racks.
  5. Combine powdered sugar, lemon juice, and vanilla in a small bowl, stirring until smooth. Drizzle glaze over muffins. Return to wire rack until glaze is set.

3 thoughts on “WEEK4 – Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins with a Vanilla Lemon Glaze

  1. Sharon says:

    Check out this blog and leave your Poppy Seed Muffins recipe. Your blog is great and more people ought to see it! Love the “food to baby size” and think it would catch on here:

    http://designsbygollum.blogspot.com

    Look for “Foodie Friday”

  2. Sharon says:

    Look for “Foodie Friday Cafe” ………..

  3. Jamie, Congratulations….I am so happy for you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

