Daily Archives: October 31, 2011

Baked Bones with Swamp Dip

It’s Halloween!  One of my favorite holidays of the year!  Why?  Because…

  • I love seeing trick-or-treating children all dressed up.
  • I love having an excuse to have CANDY in the house!
  • I love carving pumpkins with my husband.
  • I love watching scary movies.
  • I love listening to the 7 or 8 Halloween-ish songs that are out there while cooking dinner.
  • I love the imagination involved with this holiday!
  • I love listening to children saying “Trick-or-Treat-Can-I-Pet-Your-Dog?”
  • I love having a reason to wear my silly but oh-so stylish witch’s hat all day long
  • I love coming up with ridiculous things to eat throughout the day that sound scary or just down right disgusting.
  • I love all of the Halloween episodes that come on TV.
  • I love getting my fun and festive cobweb bowls and pumpkin tureens down from my cabinets, even if only for just one night.
  • I love seeing pictures of all of my friends babies and dogs dressed up as beautiful fairies and adorable bumblebees.
  • I love inviting friends over for a Halloween feast!
Tonight we had our 4th annual Halloween Feast.  Here is the menu:
APPETIZERS
Satan’s Eyeballs
(tortilla “scoops” filled with cream cheese and topped with a candied jalapeno)
Roasted Grub Worms
(little smokies wrapped in bacon and rolled in brown sugar)
Baked Bones w/Swamp Dip
(bread sticks with spinach dip)
ENTREE
Monster Meatloaf
Mashed Boo-Tatoes
DESSERT
Witches Hats
(chocolate covered cookies topped with Hershey’s Kiss)
One of our best friends joined us tonight and brought with her the delicious grub worms.  Tasty tasty!!!   Dinner was awesome and much to our delight, we had several adorable and scary trick-or-treaters tonight!  All in all, a wonderful Halloween!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

BAKED BONES with SWAMP DIP

Our baked bones and swamp dip were a huge hit tonight.  And so easy!!!  The next time you’re looking for a quick and easy and super yummy appetizer or snack, you should consider this.  But, unless it’s Halloween, perhaps you should skip the “bones” and stick with the “sticks”.  But that is up to you.

Bones Ingredients: 

  • 1 can refrigerated bread stick dough (12 bread sticks)
  • 1/4 c Parmesan cheese

Swamp Dip Ingredients:

  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • ¼ cup Mayonnaise
  • ¼ cup Romano Cheese, shredded
  • ¼ cup Parmesan Cheese, shredded
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • ½ teaspoons Dried Basil
  • ¼ teaspoons Garlic Salt
  • 1½ cups Frozen Spinach, thawed, drained and chopped

Directions:

  1. Set your oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Open the can of bread sticks and separate each stick out individually.  Tie a knot in both ends of each stick and set aside.
  3. Drench each stick in parm and place on a greased cookie sheet.  Bake for 10 minutes.
  4. While your “bones” are baking, prepare your dip by combining all of the ingredients in a microwave safe bowl.  Mix well and then pop into the microwave and cook for 2 minutes. Stir. Pop back into microwave and cook another 2-3 minutes.  Stir well and serve with “bones”.
If you have no “bones”, this would also be delicious with pita wedges, carrot sticks or spread on top of toasted french bread rounds.